Aurora Y.M.C.A Officers – 1875

Officers of the Aurora, Dearborn County, Indiana Y.M.C.A. appeared in:
Aurora Dearborn Independent – 4 Feb 1875 – Page 3, Column 2


On Tuesday evening, Jan. 26th, the following officers were elected for the current year:

  • President—H. B. Shutts.
  • Vice Presidents—E. H. Davis, G. C. Stevens.
  • Recording Secretary—Walter Denton.
  • Corresponding Secretary—A. W. Freeman.
  • Executive Committee—Dr. R. C. Bond, Rev. C. Tinsley, Wm. Edmonson, Robert Lytle.
  • Janitress—Mrs. Mary Baxendale.


  • Superintendent—Henry Fisher.
  • Assistant Superintendent—W. Denton.
  • Secretary—Daniel Williams.
  • Librarians—Albert Wilson, Henry Curney.
  • Organist—Miss Emma Shockley.


  • President—Mrs. M. C. Freeman
  • Vice Presidents—Mrs. Mary Stratton, Mrs. Harriet Taylor.
  • Secretary—Miss Abbie Stevens.
  • Cutter—Mrs. Canfield.
  • Teachers—Mrs. E. Fisher, Mrs. Lansberry, Mrs. Taylor, Mrs. Stratton, Mrs. C. C. Stevens, Misses Charlotte Twentyman, Lillie Baker, Laura Lukens, and Hattie Shattuck.
  • Relief Committee—Mrs. Freeman, Mrs. Taylor, Mrs. Stratton.

The following donations to the Industrial School were reported Jan. 30th:

  • Mrs. Fisher, 2 yds. calico.
  • W. L. S. Jones, 6 yds. Canton flannel.
  • Mrs. Folbre, 5 yds. calico.
  • Mrs. McClellan, Stamping.
  • James Stafford Jr., 4 spools thread.
  • Wm. Brewington, 25 cts.
  • Chambers, Stevens & Co., 6 scarfs and nubias, 12 silk scarfs, 2 cloaks, 3 fur capes.
  • W. W. Lamar & Sons, 25 yds. calico.