Indiana’s Gore

Indiana’s “Gore” is a triangle of land in Southeastern Indiana. It is bordered to the east by the Ohio-Indiana State Line, to the west by the Greenville Treaty Line, and to the south by the Ohio River. The parts of the current counties of Switzerland, Ohio, Dearborn, Franklin, Union and Wayne in Indiana were part of Indiana’s “Gore”.

The “Gore” is the only portion of present day Indiana that remained a part of the Northwest Territory when Indiana Territory was formed. Cincinnati attempted to keep the “Gore” and become the capital of a state comprising of the “Gore” and the Western half of present day Ohio.

Boundary Changes