Category Archives: Ohio County Voting Records

Ohio County Election Nominations – September 1855

The report of the Ohio County, Indiana election nominations for September 1855 appeared in:
The Weekly Reveille – 12 September 1855 – Page 3, Column 1.

Ohio County Nominations.
RISING SUN, Sept. 11, 1855.

Editor Reveille:–The American county Convention held in this city on Saturday last, was well attended, and considerable enthusiasm prevailed. About 300 true-hearted Americans were present.—Every portion of the county was well represented.

The people were somewhat disappointed on account of the speakers expected from abroad having failed to be present; but notwithstanding this, the meeting passed off in fine style.

A delegation, consisting of a representative number from each township, was selected to make nominations for county offices, to be presented to the convention for its ratification. This delegation presented the following ticket:

  • For Clerk, Levi Scogin, of Randolph Township.
  • For Auditor, John Buchanan, of Union Township.
  • For Recorder, James M. Shepherd, of Cass Township.
  • For Commissioner, 3d district, Scott Billings, of Pike Township.

This ticket was received with shouts of acclamation and each candidate being presented singly, the convention unanimously ratified every one nominated.

This ticket is most judiciously selected, not only as regards the popularity and fitness of the men, but also the interests of the different sections of the county.

The whole ticket will most certainly be elected. The “old liners” are already being to tremle. They see “the hand-writing on the wall.”

Ohio and Switzerland Counties Temperance Convention – December 1853

Details of the Temperance Convention for Ohio County and Switzerland County, Indiana appeared in:
Weekly Reveille (Vevay, Indiana) – 1 December 1853 – Page 2 – Column 2.
See newspaper for full details.

Temperance Convention.

At the Convention of friends of Temperance from Switzerland and Ohio counties, assembled at Mt. Sterling, Nov. 26, 1853. Dr. P. S. SAGE was called to the Chair, and Rev. H. WASON appointed Secretary pro tem.

On motion, Messrs. J. B. Lathrop, S. Washer and A. S. Kingsley were appointed a committee to nominate permanent officers.

On motion, the following persons were appointed to draft resolutions to be presented to the convention, viz: Messrs. J. C. Bunham, R. Cotton, J. Dumont, H. Littlefield, W. French and W. Speakman.

On motion, Messrs. Wm. French, U. H. Stow, Dr. Gillespie, R. N. Lamb and E. Hafford, were appointed to nominate delegates to the State Temperance Convention, to be held in Indianapolis the second Tuesday of next January.

The Convention then took recess until one o’clock, P.M.


Convention met, and called to order.—Prayer offered by Rev. J. B. Lathrop.

The committee on permanent officers reported as follows:
P. S. SAGE, President.
RALPH COTTON, Vice President.
WM. FRENCH, Secretary.

The following persons were reported by the committee, and chosen by the Convention as delegates to the State Temperance Convention, viz:

From Switzerland County,–J. R. Harris, Bela Herrick, E. M. Cheever, B. Robinson, T. Armstrong, Jas. H. Campbell, P. S. Sage, U. H. Stow, S. Washer, J. C. Bonham, H. A. Tinker, John Dumont, J. B. Lathrop, H. Wason, Enos Littlefield, George McCullough, A. S. Kingsley, Wm. Shaw, F. H. Stewart, James Stewart, Wm. Hewitt, James Ferguson, Walter Scott, E. Purdie, John Weaver, David Cain.

From Ohio County,–J. C. Powers, S. R. Record, Benj. Dennis, E. M. Gould, Ezra Lampkins, Dr. Medaris, D. H. Jessup, W. F. White, Allen Wilbur, W. S. Speakman, W. M. French, B. F. Shelden, W. Gillespie, T. H. Gilmore.

[Various resolutions passed]

The committee to nominate township committees reported as follows:


Jefferson Township.—J. B. Lathrop, H. Wason, J. J. P. Schenck, J. M. Cotton, E. Littlefield, G. McCullough, E. G. Carrington, Wm. Gleason, R. Hatton, G. Markland, J. B. Sparks.

Cotton Township.—P. S. Sage, S. Washer, U. H. Stow, J. C. Bonham, H. Tinker, C. A. Garey, H. Littlefield, L. W. Mallett, W. McMillen, A. S. Downey, David Lee, H. Bane.

Posey Township.—E. M. Cheever, Jacob Harris, Ira Keeney, Bela Herrick, A. Gazlay, Harris Keeney.

Craig Township.—John Weaver, Walter Scott, E. Hafford, John Cowan, James Shaw, David Cain, James Brindle, B. Goddard, E. Keervis, John C. Cotton.

Pleasant Township.—Dr. E. Purdy, James Stewart, J. C. Claighorn, James Furguson, T. H. Stewart, Wm. Hewitt, John Oran, L. Atkinson, John J. Adams.

York Township.—B. Robinson, James Campbell, T. Armstrong, J. Robinson, H. Kelso, Wm. D. Finton, Garrett Kelso, J. Froman, B. Stoops, E. Stoops, G. Stoops, John Gullion.


Randolph Township.—Wm. French, I. Kelso, W. Gillespie, W. Speakman, Thomas Plummer, Dr. Haines, Rev. Mr. White, B. F. Morris, B. F. Sheldon, Jas. Hastings.

Cass Township.—J. K. Read, Israel Lampkins, John Scranton, John Vanausdoll, E. W. Gould.

Union Township.—J. C. Powers, Dr. Lamb, J. R. Kent, Moses Turner, S. Record, Samuel Walker, R. J. Milligan, S. Kittle, T. Milligan.

Pike Township.—Peter Pate, Joseph Johnson, Darius Ford.

It was moved and carried, that the names of the committees, so far as reported to the Convention, be published with its proceedings; and the fractional committees be requested to complete their number, and all of them to fill their own vacancies.

On motion, a committee of three in each county was appointed to examine their records for the purpose of learning and publishing the amount of tax each county has had to pay within five years on account of the liquor traffic.

Committee for Switzerland—John Dumont, H. Wason, and J. B. Lathrop.

For Ohio—John R. Ross, W. French, and J. J. Hayden.

[Final Resolutions]