Switzerland County Masonic Lodge Officers – 1876

The following article about Switzerland County, Indiana appeared in:
Vevay Reveille – 8 Jan 1876 – Page 4, Column 2

Officers of Masonic Lodges.

The following are the officers of Masonic Lodges in this county for the ensuing year.

Moorefield Lodge, No. 213.

  • W. M.—John G. Sigman
  • S. W.—Sam’l. Adkinson
  • J. W.—Dr. J. H. Christie
  • S.—Geo. Welby VanPelt
  • Treas.—P. K. Cotton
  • S. D.—R. L. Mercer
  • J. D.—[blank]
  • Tyler.—Jacob Kern
  • Stewards—John Morgan and Henry Rutherford

Bennington Lodge, No. 257.

  • W. M.—John Neal
  • S. W.—George J. Hully
  • J. W.—Charles G. Adams
  • S.—David C. Gardner
  • T.—Issac M. Smith
  • S. D.—Andrew J. McHenry
  • J. D.—James T. Rittenor
  • Tyler.—Denis C. Valentine
  • Stewards—Thomas B. McGregor and Wm. H. White

Florence Lodge, No. 27.

  • W. M.—Lewis Land
  • S. W.—Geo. W. Bryson
  • J. W.—Robt. Neal
  • S.—L. Bledsoe
  • T.—T. Armstrong
  • S.D.—R. P. Edington
  • J. D.—J. A. Cunningham
  • Tyler.—J. F. McCreary
  • Stewards—James Vaughn and O. Bryson

Morning Star Lodge, (North’s Landing).

  • W. M.—Thos. H. Sutton
  • S. W.—Lafayette Palmer
  • J. W.—Stephen Dibble
  • S.—N. H. North
  • T.—S. R. Wilson
  • S. D.—John J. Johnson
  • J. D.—Ben. F. McIntire
  • Tyler—Geo. W. Houze
  • Stewards—Ben. North and S. Lostutter
  • Chaplain—J. Wesly Powell
  • Lecturer—Henry Kelly

(A public installation of officers was held Dec. 25th. Past Master S. Lostutter officiated. About 200 persons were present and partook dinner, which was served in good style, with plenty of hot coffee.)

Bell River Lodge, No. 325, (Patriot.)

  • W. M.—Thos. C. Jack
  • S. W.—Elza Abbott
  • J. W.—John S. Bonnell
  • S.—George H. Keeney
  • T.—W. A. Olcott
  • S. D.—Wm. Jockle, Jr.
  • J. D.—Avlin McHuron
  • Tyler.—George H. Douglass
  • Stewards—Wm. H. H. Bonnell and Jasper Jackson

Switzerland Lodge, No. 122, (Vevay.)

  • W. M.—J. W. Faulkner
  • S. W.—A. C. Weaver
  • J. W.—P. T. Hartford
  • S.—J. P. White
  • T.—Josiah Jackman
  • S. D.—J. W. Lewis
  • J. D.—William Waltz
  • Tyler—F. A. Boerner
  • Stewards—Henry Weals and Alfred Tapp

Allensville Lodge, No. 81.

  • W. M.—Robert Bovard
  • S. W.—Alexander Washer
  • J. W.—Charles H. Sage
  • S.—Robert B. Bascom
  • T.—Loren W. Mallett
  • S. D.—George W. Sander
  • J. D.—John Dunning
  • Tyler—Cornelius Hizer
  • Stewards—[blank]