Tag Archives: fire department

Vevay Fire Company Officers – 1887

The following article about Vevay, Switzerland County, Indiana appeared in:
Vevay Reveille – 13 Jan 1887 – Page 4, Column 3

Vevay Fire Company, No. 2, elected the following officers at their regular meeting Monday night:

  • Jacob Wahl, President
  • Henry Hengehold, Vice President
  • John Roberts, Secretary
  • Nat M. Fallis, assistant Secretary and Treasurer
  • Joseph Thamann, Capt. of Engine
  • Fred Plew, Capt. of Hook and Ladder
  • Chas. Hollcroft, 1st Lieutenant of Engine
  • Gabe Robinson, 1st Lieutenant of Hook and Ladder
  • Gabe Robinson, M. F. Wainscott, Fred Plew, Police.
  • W. J. Downey, 1st Engineer
  • M. F. Wainscott, Stoker
  • R. A. Knox, Jr., Driver

Company hold their meetings on 2d and 4th Monday nights in each month.