Aurora Public Schools Commencement – 1887

The 1887 Commencement of Aurora Public Schools in Dearborn County, Indiana appeared in:
Lawrenceburg Register – 2 Jun 1887 – Page 2, Column 4

The Twentieth Annual Commencement of the Aurora Public Schools was given at the Opera House Friday evening, and was a magnificent affair. The following programme covered the evening’s delightful entertainment:

Salutatory—Calla J. Kassebaum.

One Thing at a Time—Frank B. Shutts.

Looking Forward—Eliza Billingsley.

Our Nation’s Holiday—Carrie Rectanus.

The First Stroke—Vina Ruese.

For What Should We Seek?—Rachel Kerr.

The Price of Success—Edith Conwell.

A Bouquet—Ella Cadwell.

Rev. A. W. Freeman—Minnie Kerr.

Music—Lillie M. Radspinner.

Little Things—Louis Severin.

Micawberism—Abbie Holman.

One Remains, the Many Changes and Pass—Jessie E. Smith.

A Nation’s Wealth—Tillie L. Oester.

The Knitting Furies—Emmeline Kerr.

The Inconveniences of Greatness—Charles B. McHenry.

Hunting a Subject for Commencement—Flora Siemantel.

Wasting Time—Mame M. Siemantel.

Truth—Nannie Kassebaum.

Courage—Jennie I. V. Lukens.

Honor to Whom Honor is Due—John Hopping.

The Four-Leaf Clover—Calla J. Kassebaum.

What of the Boys of ’87?—Cassius McMullen.

Valedictory—Edith Conwell.