Category Archives: Ohio County Organizations

Sunny Side Grange Charter Members – 1874

Charter members of the Sunny Side Grange in Hartford, Ohio County, Indiana appeared in:
Aurora Dearborn Independent – 5 Mar 1874 – Page 3, Column 2

Sunny Side Grange.
Hartford, March 2d, 1874.

Below will be names of the charter members of Sunny Side Grange, located at Hartford, Ohio county, and instituted February 24th, by Captain Percy Rouse, Deputy of Switzerland and Ohio counties:


  • Master—John R. Lynn.
  • Overseer—J. B. Gerard.
  • Lecturer—James B. Miller.
  • Steward—Jesse Cooper Sr.
  • Assistant Stewart—John Fisher.
  • Chaplain—Wm. Higbee Sr.
  • Treasurer—R. W. Marryman.
  • Secretary—David S. Wilber.
  • Gate Keeper—Marian Palmer.
  • Ceres—Mrs. Mary Wilber.
  • Pomona—Mrs. Jennie Cole.
  • Flora—Miss Inez S. Gerard.
  • Lady Assistant Steward—Miss Frankie Finch.


  • H. C. Miller
  • Job Billingsley
  • John Wallingford
  • Wm. Hawkins
  • Nathan Fisher
  • J. S. Cole
  • Jesse H. Cooper
  • A. M. Elliott
  • Wm. Woods
  • John W. Cofield
  • W. W. Cofield
  • Miss M. E. Blue
  • Mrs. Mary Cooper
  • Miss C. B. Billingsley
  • Mrs. M. A. Wallingford
  • Miss Sarah Dixon
  • Mrs. Dortha Miller

Rising Sun Women’s Literary Club – 1898

Women’s Literary Club of Rising Sun, Ohio County, Indiana, report appeared in
Vevay Reveille – 11 Aug 1898 – Page 4, Column 2

The Woman’s Literary Club of Rising Sun made an excursion to Vevay last Tuesday on the steamer Workum. A committee from the Eggleston and Study Clubs met them at the river and escorted them to the residence of Mrs. A. G. Craig, where an informal reception was extended them. Mrs. Craig, assisted by Miss Evylin and the Presidents of the two Clubs, Miss Sada Hall and Mrs. W. J. Baird; and Mrs. G. S. Pleasants; received the guests. The members of the two clubs were scattered through the parlors and exchanged happy greetings. It was a pleasant occasion and the Vevay Clubs hope ere long they may have the pleasure of again entertaining this club. The following composed the party:

Mesdames Sarah S. Stevenson, Florence Gibson, Fannie Rabb Green, Nettie S. Steele, Ida Trouts, Mattie Rockafeller, Misses Jennie Waldo, Alice Perkins, Grace Clark, Mollie Baker, Frances E. Latta, Delhi, Ohio; Henrietta Adler, Cincinnati; Elizabeth Gillespie, Jean Hyen, Maud E. Matson, Hannah Davis, Mary Green, Margaret Brown, Covington; Sarah Waldo, Miss Grives, Washington City; Miss Gains, Carroll County, Kentucky; Messrs. R. C. Nelson, Louis G. Hyen, Ed. Trouts, Low E. Thorn, J. P. Hemphill, E. B. Rockafellar, Alex Spencer Perkins, Wm. Green, Wm. Steele, Harry Anderson, David Rabb, Leonard Gibson, Frank Steele, and Edward Davis.

Vevay Lodge of Knights of Pythias – 1886

The following article about Vevay, Switzerland County, Indiana appeared in:
Vevay Reveille – 23 Sep 1886 – Page 4, Column 2

A Lodge of Knights of Pythias
Was organized in this city last Monday afternoon and night. About noon members of the Madison division came up on the City of Vevay, and were met at the wharf by a committee. They wore handsome uniforms and swords, and headed by White’s drum corps, paraded the streets. They were well drilled, executing military movements perfectly, presenting a fine appearance. In honor of so many distinguished visitors, the streets and business houses were decked with flags.

The following is a list of visitors:

MADISON DIVISION K. of P., U. R., No. 10.

Officers—Major, A. D. Vanosdol; Captain, W. W. Hinds; Lieutenant, Jos R. Gorgas; Herald, Dan C. Price; Guard, H. C. Walton.

Sir Knights—C. T. Branham, James Neill, W. A. Cutting, J. C. Abbott, Kansas Hollcroft, F. W. Schelke, James Williams, S. R. Carlisle, F. J. Scott, A. Bach, M. J. Hoffstad, S. E. Brewer, E. G. Niklaus, H. W. Archer, Geo. R. Bolen.

K. of P.—Geo. D. Demaree, J. C. Hill, James Stewart, W. W. Beatty, Robert Page, John C. White, Chas. C. Rinne, Ernest Argus, Walt M. Brown, J. W. Kramer, Geo. Wood, Chas. M. Grayson, and White’s Drum Corps, of Madison.

Home Lodge, No. 132, Rising Sun, Ind.—James Harris, Oscar Jones, B. F. Hundley, S. M. Seward, Edgar Hoffner, Edward Nichols, John Billingsley, W. E. Bennett, Wm. Scholey, E. E. Hemphill, Wm. Riggs, Jos. E. Love.

Harmony Lodge, No. 69, Aurora—John S. Morris.

Union Lodge, No. 31, Aurora—Henry Smith.

Dearborn Lodge, No. 49, Lawrenceburg—J. H. Russey, Grand Prelate.

Mechanic Lodge, No. 24, Philadelphia, Penn.—Phillip Dilge.

Vevay Lodge, No. 149, K. of P., was instituted by D. D. G. Chancellor A. D. Vanosdol, assisted by Grand Officers selected by him. The following are the names of the charter members and officers elected and appointed and duly installed.

Officers—A. G. Craig, PC; Carroll S. Tandy, C C; Jas. A. Vanosdol, V C; R. T. F. Abbett, Prel; I. P. Loring, M E; Alfred B. Shaw, M F; Abner P. Dufour, K. of R & S, Dwight B. Smith, M A; Oliver M. Pleasants, I G; U. P. McHenry, O G; Jesse V. Oakley, 1st Alt; Marion C. Walden, 2d Alt; Francis M.  Griffith, 3d Alt; Charles Black, 4th Alt.

Members—Andrew J. Porter, Hiram Ford, Joseph Walton, Wm. R. Johnson, Chas. C. Shaw, Wm. H. Pleasants, Chas. O. Thiebaud, Wm. Johnson, Wesley McHenry, John W. Kincaid, P. C. Holland, Jos. E. Hart, J. E. Williams, Chas. E. Golay, Geo. S. Pleasants, U. P. Schenck, Chas. G. Adams.

The visitors were entertained by supper at the LeClerc House, and at 11:30 p.m. lunched at Jockell’s.

Darius Grange Officers – 1876

The following article about Ohio County, Indiana appeared in:
Vevay Reveille – 22 Jan 1876 – Page 5, Column 1

From the Rising Sun Recorder we learn that the following are the officers of Darius Grange, No. 1053, at North’s Landing:

  • Master, Ben. North
  • Overseer, Daniel Mead
  • Lecturer, Sam’l Lostutter
  • Chaplain, Wm. H. Cunningham
  • Stewart, Sylvester C. Powell
  • A. Stewart, S. Dibble
  • Treasurer, Jas. M. North
  • Secretary, B. F. McIntire
  • Gate keeper, John Bunger
  • Ceres, Maria North
  • Pomona, Lizzie Lostutter
  • Flora, Mary A. North
  • L. A. I., Bell Norris